The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Bats in the belfry! (or fireplace…)

For quite some time I had been hearing a real raucous, chirping, twittering sound coming from my fireplace. I thought it was bats! But it turned out to be Chimney Swifts! These are a protected bird. If you kill one on purpose it’s a 10,000 dollar fine. So I had to call this big old wild life removal guy and a skinny cajun out to take care of them. The skinny cajun was the chimney sweep. They got rid of most of the birds (one flopped out of the fireplace dazed and confused a day later.) It all became a strange allegory for what was going on inside of my mind with Parkinson’s… Dementia may be in my future. I will just have to get my bats (or swifts) to all fly in formation…

Written by martyworld

August 18, 2011 at 11:53 am

Posted in Parkinson's

Tagged with , , ,

