The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

God its GOOD to have to ole’ sketchpad back!

Maybe its just ME, but I was overjoyed to get the car out of the shop and retrieve my sketchbook. Fired up the 2H pencils for the sketch and fired up the Flair pens for a quick drawing. Nothing beats it!

I have a cheap Chinese knockoff ipad called a “Gpad”, nothing very fluid about drawing on it at the moment. Have to try a faster pad and see if its cool or not. Still prefer the “caveman” approach to art… (not even the Wacom tablets are as “fluid” for the linework…)

I find a light grid partitioning the page in quarters helps me keep things on the perpendicular and horizontal with no slope. I’m sure its all muscular in relation to atrophy of some of the muscles in the right arm. The “grid” helps keep things from “sloping”.

After my experience on the pad I wonder if some of the drawings I see that PD artist’s do with them aren’t affected more by the technology than the disease. Your lines get away from you since the surface is almost frictionless. This is true for the tablet experience too! There is just not enough “tooth” to the surface like you get with a pen and paper.

I’ll have to play with some other programs and see if they perform any better (and maybe a higher end tablet or phone.)

Written by martyworld

December 23, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Posted in Parkinson's

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m with you Marty! I tried taping a sheet of paper on top of my Wacom pad to feel the ‘tooth’ and drag on my stylus. It’s still not even close to a pencil, and you can’t simple rotate the pad to get curves and angles like you can with pencil and paper . . . sigh.

    Al G

    December 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm


Comments are closed.

