The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Lift off!!!

I know some of you are old enough to remember when the announcer would say “Houston, we have liftoff!” and a space shuttle or Saturn rocket would take off into space or the moon. Well I ran into something like that last night. (Some of you may be seeing the wings and halo and thinking “!@#$% he’s getting spiritual again on me!” Well “!@#$% it!” it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want!)

I was reading in the book store (somewhere in between reading about a Psychedelic artist named Alan Aldridge and something about HTML5) a book by Francis Chan. He’s one of those new fangled, “cool” preachers. He mentioned that Joni Eareckson Tada was one of the most “spirit filled persons he ever met.” I think he was talking about her overall demeanor, always happy, praising and so on, breaking into songs. But there was something DEEPER that I think Francis missed.

Joni had become paralyzed as a teenager and couldn’t move her hands or feet. It was during this time that she “got religion”. She then took that disability and turned it over to God to use in any way he saw fit.

Joni had turned her disability into a chance to let the “divine” work through her. You see when the outward body is failing (or FAILED) then when something wonderful happens it can only be the intervention of the divine. She had turned herself entirely over to that “Spirit” to use and animate the parts that were broken. Scriptures say something like that about the “thorn in his side” that Paul had from Satan:

2Co 12:9  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

The weaker we are the stronger the Spirit can be. Joni has been used in some wonderful ways to minister to the disabled, read about her here. So whatever Joni has going I want the same thing! “Houston we have lift off!”

Written by martyworld

February 21, 2012 at 7:56 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Go ahead on Marty! This is what it’s about!

    Al G

    February 22, 2012 at 5:57 pm

  2. that’s it!

    martyworld

    February 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm

  3. yep, it just struck me in this strange world of “faith healers on TV” that nobody ever mentions the “real world”, that invisible place where nobody is sick, or disabled… they got heaven mixed up with earth…

    martyworld

    February 22, 2012 at 6:06 pm

  4. Well said my friend!

    Al G

    February 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm


Comments are closed.

