The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Following the leader…

A colleague of mine gave me a “holy card” of John Paul II and told me the story of his choice of crucifix (that staff he carries). He had apparently chosen the bent crucifix years before he assumed the same posture, that of a Parkinson’s sufferer bent over and shuffling. Was it something “mystical”? I don’t know.

After my last post this thought came into my head. I saw the ghost of John Paul come to me, he seemed to say “My son, let’s show them how its done…”. (To get the idea of how its done, look what he’s leaning on…)

*First off some disclaimers; I am not a Catholic. Secondly, I don’t believe in ghosts nor do I commune with the dead. Thirdly, some have put a “sinister” meaning to the “bent” cross of John Paul II, I wish to give it a more benign interpretation. (I’ll get back to the funny stuff next post, going to Houston tomorrow so my brain is taking a “road trip”.)

Written by martyworld

February 22, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Posted in Parkinson's

