The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Crawfish eatin’ in Southwest Louisiana

One of my students who runs a seafood place gave me a bag of cooked crawfish to eat on Friday. I sat on the front porch outside and cracked and ate crawfish tails and just enjoyed the heat. All I would have needed were the Mamou Playboys to serenade me with some Cajun music.

Probably all that protein interfered with the sinemet and on top of things my Yankee belly wasn’t ready for such Cajun goodness! So I had a little discomfort and decided to skip the later meds during the day (sinemet can throw your tummy into a tailspin sometimes). Woke up at 3 a.m. with my arms just a fluttering like a hummingbird. But it SURE WAS GOOD WHEN I WAS EATING IT!

I think the takeaway is don’t let your disease get in the way of good eating… (or anything else for that matter!)

Written by martyworld

April 1, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Posted in Parkinson's

