The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Armored Duck!

With the profusion of quack cures out there for Parkinson’s, I have called in the armored division! Whenever you find a “cure” or something that looks promising, go to this website quackwatch and look it up there. I found an internet news article from one of my TV stations I watched in my childhood in Minnesota that mentioned a doctor that said he found a cure for Parkinson’s with chelation. Look it up on quackwatch and find out the truth…

Written by martyworld

April 6, 2012 at 3:40 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i can understand why people would reach out to anything if it would help. i care for my brother who has parkinsons, dementia, CAD, and is mentally challenged. as of this week, we have had to have a wheel chair, and then a gait belt. his legs are deteriorating so quickly in the past month. it is just me, his sister, and him and it is getting very difficult

    terry1954

    April 6, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  2. I’m activating the prayer chain for you and yours Terry!

    martyworld

    April 6, 2012 at 10:03 pm

  3. Quackwatch is the worst place you can go to for unbiased information. They will categorically deny anything that is not officially-sanctioned, i.e., anything that doesn’t produce money for the AMA and the pharmaceutical industry.

    brainfan

    April 7, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  4. Brainfan, the great English comic Terry Thomas lost his entire fortune looking for a cure for Parkinson’s. I find it incredibly cruel that so many hucksters have “cures” for the very disease I have. Holding out false hope for people is downright evil, intended or not. My neuro told me that some of the “cures” are offered by well meaning people, others are just greedy, so it’s “Caveat Emptor” as far as I am concerned.

    Believe me, I’ve seen most of them, I have the disease, yet I must maintain a clear and very skeptical head.

    Try doing some research on your own on chelation cures for Parkinson’s, Autism and Cancer. It’s not just Quackwatch the damns the process. Just type in “lawsuit chelation” in google and look!

    ps. if you read through some of my archives you can find one on Metheylene Blue, it’s an aquarium chemical. People are buying it at pet stores and drinking a couple of drops with a litre of water. I don’t get a dime from the AMA or the pharmaceutical industry but even I gotta’ roll my eyes on that one!

    martyworld

    April 7, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  5. There are plenty of people who lose fortunes trying to find cures for my disease as well. This does not mean that any and all non-mainsteam medical remedies are ineffective. It simply means you have to do research and not believe every single claim there is. Quackwatch is unadulterated bias. While you will find endless refutations of any and every alternative approach to medicine under the sun, you’ll have to look long and hard before you realize you will find NOTHING that takes a skeptical look at mainstream medical practices, even the the BMJ has found that over 50% of mainstream medical practices have no proven efficacy.

    brainfan

    April 8, 2012 at 8:46 pm

  6. I do not wish any argument with you, there is no need to respond to this post.

    martyworld

    April 8, 2012 at 9:18 pm

  7. It doesn’t have to be an “argument”. What’s wrong with “discussion”?

    brainfan

    April 9, 2012 at 7:16 am

  8. Simple, we are comparing apples and oranges. Science is not based on opinions, anecdotal evidence and spurious clinical trials. It really ISN’T a gigantic conspiracy. I don’t have time to discuss stuff that is bogus (I’d rather point out its false quality with a cartoon.) You really haven’t bothered to look over all my posts or you would know my opinion of alternative medicine solutions to Parkinson’s already.

    We certainly aren’t going to convince each other so I say if you got issues with Quackwatch, take them over to their forum.

    martyworld

    April 9, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  9. “Science is not based on opinions, anecdotal evidence and spurious clinical trials.”

    But much of modern medicine IS. That’s why the BMJ found over 50% of 2,500 procedures performed by mainstream medicine to have unknown or bad results. This is my entire point: SCIENCE is ill-served by modern medicine as well, which doesn’t have cures to ANY degenerative illness. My issue here very obviously isn’t just with Quackwatch; it’s with people who use it as a gatekeeper of medical science, even though its founder Stephen Barrett has proven himself a failure in the least scientific of the medical specialties. There are far better resources out there.

    brainfan

    April 9, 2012 at 3:15 pm


Comments are closed.

