The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Okay… so I’m setting goals already!

It appears that setting some goals (and achieving them) gives you a payoff of more dopamine! (link here) So what’s this mean for us parkies? Well your first reaction when you got diagnosed was probably to say “OH @#%!”, roll up into the fetal position and start sucking on a bottle of Jack Daniels (needless to say when you’re having bad day or bad YEAR you are going to react just like this.) As I write this I must confess that I am NOT bipolar, nor am I depressed, so it’s a bit unfair (I’ve probably been depressed 5 minutes out of my entire life, and that was when I was suffering a gastro bleed…) BUT I am a “pleasure junkie”… if it weren’t for my faith I would probably be a hard core stoner.

So I thinks to myself, what are some LONGGGGGG TERM goals I can set? Start the animation studio, learn MORE about 3D computer apps, get REALLY in shape. I think I need this to pull me through. Now I just have to write ’em down. Parkinson’s ain’t a death sentence…
(if I kick off of a major coronary, oh well… least I faked myself out and psyched myself into a positive “run for the roses”)

vw2

Written by martyworld

August 10, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Posted in Parkinson's

