The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

GO DEEP!

sm_brainwork

One of the things I noticed about my symptoms is that they disappear when I get into my art (NON-commercial projects work best!) Separated from the house, no computers or interruptions, in my studio, I drop into the “zone”. No tremors, it’s all as if it didn’t exist!

So I HAD to get this book when I read about it: DEEP WORK!

It chronicles what is going on when you intensely concentrate on a project for an uninterrupted period of time. Cal Newport calls this “Deep Work.”

My takeaway so far is that you have to find something you are interested in and really get “lost” in it. The thing is it doesn’t HAVE to be creative (which is what I thought initially.) It should push your boundaries.

Written by martyworld

January 30, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Posted in Parkinson's

