The Dopamine Chronicles

An almost daily cartoon about Parkinson's

Better living through electricity…

Or maybe NOT! There ARE some side effects or outcomes with DBS that spook you a little bit, bad placement of leads, the leads MOVE even after you get them in place, not to mention its an hours long surgery and you’re wide awake! The what if it just doesn’t WORK? Well in any case my neuro guy here says I’m not a candidate (YET)… But if I do get it, wouldn’t it be nice to have a zipper or flip top skull? That way if the electrodes need to be reset you can just unzip and get in there…

The second thought is could you buy the materials from Radio Shack and do it yourself? (NA, my wife doesn’t even want me fixing my PLUMBING by myself, it’s not just Parkinson’s, I was no good at it when I was younger!)

sm_headjob

Written by martyworld

February 15, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Posted in Parkinson's